Dinner for 4

January 25, 2010 dstevens11
Tags: , , , ,

As you know from my previous post, I was kind of gong back and forth on the open weekend. I talked to our therapist Friday afternoon and she basically just told me (as many of you commented on as well) to just relax and let things play out. Allow Jamie space to get comfortable at the pace she wants. 

So when the kids came home from school on Friday (I was home from work on Friday) Jamie came home and immediately asked me “are we going shopping for clothes for me this weekend?” So I knew where her mindset was.

I asked what her expectations were. She said “I don’t know.” 

Drew texted me “can I sleep over (his friends) house tonight?” I was wondering if he just did not want to be home this weekend, and I hate when he does stuff like that on our family weekend – when we are all together. I said to him “fine, but I want you to be back here on Saturday.” He said that was fine, that’s what he planned on anyway.

So I actually called my neighbor who watches Aly until 5:30 every night, if she did not mind in watching Aly until late that night. I figured what I could do is take Jamie out shopping, just the two of us, and would give us some ability to talk and give Jamie the ability to have a comfortable setting.

My friend said she was “fine” also; she followed with “Do you want Aly to just sleep over tonight?” Since it is one of Aly’s best friends; I knew she would be excited as well. So the night was clear for Jamie and I to hit the mall. 

So I said to Jamie, “why don’t you go upstairs and find an outfit to put on, and we can go across the river and hit one of the malls in Jersey together, go shopping and get some dinner.”

She was like “REALLY MOM??? JUST YOU AND I??? I am sooo excited.” She was cute.

I did tell her, that “hey we are just going to go shopping-lite, which means only a few outfits. We can build your stuff as we go along.”

She said, “that’s ok mom. I know. Thanks”

 At this point much like I was last week, I was downstairs and feeling pretty nervous. In some ways Aly has been a pretty good buffer between the two of us. Now it will be just me and Jamie. Which is good for me, but I will be honest, again I was pretty nervous.

When she came downstairs, I still can’t get used to the hairpeace, it totally changes her. I know it is something small, but it’s like when superman puts on his cape, another person emerges. (bad metaphor I know) It will take some time for me to get used too. Of course, she did up her make-up, which again I am amazed on how well she does it. It’s a subtle style.

What was kind of an interesting spin is she put on one of Drew’s Eagles sweatshirts he got for Christmas and never wore (which she was swimming in; I am sure it is an XL) put on a turtleneck white long sleeve under layer of mine under the sweatshirt, some black form fitting casual pants of mine, and a pair of my black flats. The sweatshirt covered her past her behind, which is what I think she is trying to accomplish. As she confided to me later on that night, she wants to her hide lack of shape. She looked like a normal high school girl. I told her she looked great!

It was dark out when we left which was kind of good; we live next to an elderly couple who saw us leaving, and must of just thought it was Aly. But Jamie nervously kind of jumped in the car. We need a way to figure out the neighbors soon.

We headed off to a mall, which was about 45 minutes in traffic from our house. I was asking Jamie how school was going this week. She said “I just can’t wait until this school year is over Mom. I just hate being there, but I get how you want me to finish out the year. I just want to get on with my life.” She sounded so grown-up the way she said it.

 I keep asking her the uncomfortable question (for both of us) on how the pills are making her feel. She said “I feel good knowing that I have estrogen in my body, it is so exciting to me that I am going to be able to be who I was supposed to be. But so far I have not noticed anything out of the normal.” I know she wouldn’t just yet, but want to know she can talk to me about anything.

 From the driver’s seat, and I will say this over and over again, I just can’t get over how feminine she behaves. Now I know she can pull off the feminine look, she looks female. That’s amazing in itself. But what surprises me is she acts so feminine, it is almost like she has been bottling up inside for all of this time. Like holding it back. The learning curve for her will be pretty small. Where is she getting it from? Some of you have commented that she has been observing all of this time; I think you are all correct. She has just waited for the moment and time to express. She sat there with her purse on the floor, looking in the vanity mirror, and sat there with her legs crossed sideways talking to me. It’s sooo crazy. I felt good that she feels comfortable enough with me to express like that, it is not an issue at all. I am probably twice as hesitant as she is.

 We got dinner at Friendly’s of all places – the big spender I am. It was her choice. She asked me “what can I get tonight mom?” I said “Jamie, let’s be realistic, what are your expectations? I think your goals are to spend nights and weekends initially around the house correct?” she said “yes”.

 I responded “Then I think we should just buy some casual stuff for at home, maybe some shoes, some sleepwear, and when events arise that we need to get some more stuff we can buy that stuff as we go along. I said how does that make you feel?”

 She said. “Great”

I said “one exception to what I just said is I was thinking about taking you, Drew and Aly for a celebration dinner tomorrow night. Somewhere down in Penn’s Landing.”

“What are we celebrating?” she said.

I said “you.”

She was like “OH, really? How do you think Drew would feel?”

I said “he gave me his commitment that we have his support on this, it may be a good way to acclimate him to you.”

She kiddingly said, “It might make him grossed out.”

I said “maybe, or completely the opposite he may come away from it as no big deal or anything. You never know with Drew.”

She said “Let me think about that. I really appreciate that a lot.”

I said “No problem honey.”

From Friendly’s we went into JC Penny’s. Why JC Penny’s? Well, I figured we could keep it to one store, kind of explore a lot of things and if we needed to move onto the mall, fine. But it was almost like I wanted her to set the tempo. We ended buying mostly everything there (I know that sounds like a commercial, but she was fine.)

She did not want to use the dressing rooms, she did not feel comfortable in that setting yet. I totally got that.

She mainly came away with sweatpants outfits, some hoodies, t-shirts, leggin pants, mostly casual at home stuff. I was actually impressed with her taste. She bought a couple of pairs of real cute pajama outfits, including a long flannel nightgown. I know you are all thinking (what about the thrift stores, or taking it easy, I KNOW but I could not resist.) She loved every second of it, I could resist talking out the VISA card, even though I promised myself not too. She deserves it. There are so many sales going on it’s ridiculous.

We passed one of those aisle tables with the assorted panty sets on display. I said to her “you’re probably sick of the generic panty set I bought you, do you want to get your own pairs? Why don’t you pick out a few pairs for yourself.” She did not hesitate, and kind of jumped in, and picked out some real cute stuff. I was proud of her, she wasn’t shy really. 

One thing I did say to her is “Do you want to buy a bra for yourself; we could buy some inserts to put in them for you to wear out?”

This is where she volunteered that she just wants to wear like baggy clothes for now. “I want to get one when I will start needing one?” she said. Which I respected, like with her there is a sense of authenticity about the exercise. I will have to remember that the next time we are in counseling to discuss. I said “Ok honey, when you’re ready.” I know I am going to need to buy Aly one real soon, so maybe they can experience that together. Although I think Aly’s development will be further on then Jamie’s. Not sure how that will feel for either of them. Will cross that bridge when we come to it.

When we were almost done, she said to me “what we you thinking about me wearing to dinner tomorrow night?”

I said “listen you don’t have too, it was just an idea I had.”

She said, “I want too.”

 We kind of perused over to some of the dress sections, both on the junior and misses section. She really didn’t like much over there, or did not want to try one on. I said “we could go to another store if you want too.”

She kind of went over to the skirt section, and found a form-fitting black pencil skirt that was fitted to the waist. Not a zipper or anything. She loved it, I told her to get it. We can find a top for you.

She went the route of a red and black patterned sweater, and end up buying her own white  turtle neck layer to put underneath. Again kind of siding with the baggy bigger theme.

We bought her a pair of black sheer opaque tights to complement the outfit.

The other thing I wanted to buy her was her own bathrobe. Obviously she will not be able to kind of come out of the shower (she rarely does) with a bottom towel anymore. So she bought herself a big long pink bathrobe with matching slippers.

I know my bill was adding up.

We headed out to the mall in search of some shoes for herself. We ended buying a pair of cute, white with pink trim Vans sneakers, as well as some black flats of her own, and a nice pair of flat heeled dress shoes to wear with her skirt outfit.

So all in all it was a huge start, a lot more then what I expected to pay, but again she was so into it, and wanted to be supportive to her. I know how long she waited for it.

On the way home I asked her “how do you feel?”

“I feel awesome mom.” she started crying. “Thank you so much. I’m so happy” She put her head down on my shoulder while I was driving. I started crying as well. So touching, she was so sincere.

The other thing she talked to me about on the way home was changing and re-arranging her room. Her room I would say now is kind of like gender neutral. She wants to re-do the whole room. I said I don’t have any issues with it, but we will just have to wait a few months. She said she was fine with it. I think reality is settling in with her, and she is loving it. It makes me happy.

We ended going to blockbuster on the way home, and picked up a movie.

She went upstairs, started putting her clothes away, washed her face, got into her flannel nightgown and came downstairs and just gave me a HUUUGGGE hug. I knew right there things are going to be ok.

I fell asleep watching the movie, she kind of shook me and I went upstairs as she did.

One by one, first Aly came home Saturday morning around 9 AM. I was still in my PJ’s, and then Drew (thankfully) around 9:30. Jamie was still upstairs.

I told both of them (one at a time) about we may be going out dinner that night and that I want the family to get dressed up as a welcome to Jamie. Drew was like “Really, it has to be this weekend already.” I told him, “Drew you gave your word, you promised.” He said “I know mom.”

“Do I have your support?” (me)

“Yes mom” (Drew)

Aly of course was real excited. “Is Jamie upstairs? Can I go tell her? What’s she going to wear?” She is such a cool kid.

Jamie came downstairs wearing her hairpiece, and in her nightgown and came to the kitchen where Drew was. It was like Rocky and the other guy as they entered the ring 🙂 I’m kidding.

It was the first time Drew saw Jamie like that. I have to give him credit, he was real cool to her. “Hi Jamie (he does not refer to her as Jamie)”

“Hi Drew” she kind of said cheerfully and kind of girly (I’m like don’t over do it honey).

She followed “Did you sleep over Sully’s house?” (Drew’s friend)

He said like “Yeah, so and so was over too and we played basketball on the playstation all night. I think we went to sleep around 3am or something” (didn’t like to hear that, but happy there were talking.)

They kept on talking while I was making them a late breakfast. I wanted to be there the whole time, but not really be there, if you know what I mean. Aly jumped in, and after awhile when I was setting up the food on the kitchen table, it was like awkwardly “normal”. Can’t explain it. Jamie was not holding back her femininity, hands, gestures, legs crossing. Drew maybe because of the way she was dressed, just kind of seemed cool with her. I don’t know. I give him SOOOOOOO much credit for doing that. He took the high road. He was the first to leave the table, and head up to his room, and just started playing games.

I went into his room “are you ok?”

He said “yeah I think so, but that was weird.”

I told him I was proud of him.

The afternoon passed, and I was starting to get the kids ready for dinner. I told Drew to wear a sweater and a pair of his nice dockers. He did not want to wear dress pants, a tie or anything, I said that was fine.

Aly wore a nice dress she has. She was real excited.

We were all kind of dress up. There was like an event feel for the night.

 Jamie came down in her outfit, and looked SPECTACTULAR. Aly was like “Jamie you look awesome, you’re even wearing tights like me.”

 You could see some trepidation in Jamie’s face, but you could see a lot of pride in there as well. She felt as good as she looked. If there ever was a womanly trait, that is certainly one. I was so proud of her.

Drew, I am not sure what was going thru his mind. Like his brother finished transitioning into a girl right in front of his eyes. Kind of like how I felt, where did all this come from? He didn’t compliment her or anything, but more importantly did not put her down.

 We hopped in the car, with Drew in the front seat and Aly and Jamie in the back. I could see Jamie in my rearview mirror, she was smiling from ear to ear. Drew was real quiet in the car.

 We got out of the car, and walked towards the restaurant. Drew was in the front with Jamie behind him with Aly with me trailing in the back. I was looking at Jamie behind Drew, and again was blown away over what has occurred the last few years. She so looked liked a girl with her purse hanging off her coat, the skirt, and they way she carried herself. In front Drew is growing into such a young man. WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED? The last several years just passed me by in that moment.

I am so optimistic about the future, but to use the word surreal is understating how I felt.

We sat down to dinner, and on cue the waitress after introducing herself – turns to Drew and says “boy aren’t you lucky to be out with three beautiful ladies? What’s the occasion?” He was kind of stumped, and I kind of answered that we were celebrating good report cards. Drew kind of rolled his eyes, not sure if it was because of the report card response, or because of the beautiful ladies comment. But he rolled with it.

The dinner was pretty uneventful, again you will be sick of me saying it, but the way Jamie carries herself is unbelievable to me. How did that happen? I think Drew was kind of blown away too. The way she orders, the way she presents herself, the way she eats, it’s crazy.  

The only thing that made me apprehensive for pursuing this was how quiet Drew was. Not sure if he was taking it all in or not, but was not himself. He was not disrespectful; he was talking to Jamie and to Aly, but was overall reserved. I guess that’s to be expected. I don’t know.

When we got home, we just turned on the TV, and hung out for a awhile. Aly and Jamie kicked off her shoes, and sat on the couch. The way they were sitting both cross legged sitting almost on top of each other, again was surreal to me. Their sisters, no doubt about it!

It took Jamie awhile to go upstairs and get changed, because I think she was waiting for this moment for a longtime. Drew went upstairs to his room, and just started playing on the playstation again by himself. I went into his room, “You ok?”

He said “yeah mom”.

“You can talk to me?” I said.

“I’m cool mom.”

I’m not so sure, I wish he would open up to me.

The good news is we woke up on Sunday; Jamie wore another new pair of pj’s. Aly asked “where are you getting all of this stuff?” Jamie said “Mom bought it for me Friday night.”

“That’s not fair!!” Aly replied.

I told her “I will get you some new stuff, Jamie needed some of her own stuff.”

“No duh mom.” Aly said, which was funny.

Jamie wore another new outfit on Sunday and was in and out of the football games that were going on. Drew occupied the room with the big tv, and really gets into it. He was texting and calling his dad all throughout the game. I never heard him once talk about the events of the weekend. Which I think is good.

Jamie sat on the same couch with him when she watched the game, and he did not run off or anything. I think that was a good sign. But you can almost tell the next stage of their relationship is going to start. Hopefully for Drew – he will talk about it in therapy. I am going to call my ex and tell him everything that went on, just so he is up to speed.

What a weekend!!

 This morning, got the kids up for school to start the routine. Jamie looked miserable. Long sour face. That’s my biggest fear, that after these weekends or weeknights the days she has to present as a male are getting to get harder and harder. I feel for her. Going to have to watch that closely.

As I write this tonight, the routine she has set in the house, is she is not afraid to dress out. She had her hairpiece on and a new outfit, she even put on a little make-up when she got home from school. I hope that is healthy for her. Drew was not a lot different from the weekend, but the cat is out of the bag.

We are on our way, as I keep saying the next couple of months will be tough. But I think this weekend was the start of a different life for all of us, especially Jamie.

Thanks for all of your ears, any feedback or thoughts on how I handled the weekend it is much appreciated. Did I go overboard? I am not sure how I feel tonight.

Love, Dana

Entry Filed under: gender identity,gender variance,hormones,trans youth,transgender,transgendered,transition,transsexual

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andip  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    All I can see is wow. I am 39 so you and I are not too far apart in age. I am transgendered (male to female) and really just getting serious about transitioning even though I came out as a teenager. I graduated in 89 and my parents were completely unsupportive and the therapists at the time were completely uneducated on ghe topic of gender identity. As I watch your story unfold, I feel jealous, robbed of 20 years of happiness and at the same time, grateful that people like you exist. Each kind act you do for your daughter changes her world for the better. Thank you for sharing your story. It means a lot to people like myself who have struggled to be accepted for who we are. Your decisions aren’t easy, but they are selfless and thoughtful. You are a good person and a great Mom. Thank you for being you. I look forward to your postings moving ahead.

    • 2. dstevens11  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      Thanks for your nice comments. I get compliments like yours from a lot of people in the same situation as you, which makes me feel even more like I have been doing the right thing for my daughter. You always as a parent second guess yourself, especially in a situation like this, so really appreciate your offering your perspective. Good luck with your own transition. Love, Dana

  • 3. Rebecca  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I think I’ve said this before, but I’m going to completely agree with the previous commenter. I transitioned at 38. I knew at age 20 who I truly was, after hiding from this during high school, because of harsh words about my femininity from my brothers. But at 20, I had 2 children, and chose to set aside fixing myself in order to raise my children. So, I lost 20 years of living as the real me, and made many many mistakes as a result. I’m still trying to figure out if I did my kids a true favor or not…. Regardless, what you are doing for Jamie is very likely the best gift she will ever receive in her life. Please know that you are a beautiful person for giving this to her.

    As for her reaction today… this is normal, and to be honest, I was waiting to read about it. The fact that she has a great therapist will help her tremendously during the rest of the school year, but yes, school will become more and more difficult, and her true self will start to bleed out into her school life, no matter how hard she tries to hold it in. Thankfully, there’s only a few more months left.

    Drew deserves a huge hug for how well he did!! He has to be simply reeling from all this, and yet he managed to hold himself together and be respectful to Jamie, and to you. You’ve obviously done a wonderful job raising your children!!

    I will continue to pray for you all daily. Please give Jamie a hug for all of us out here. She’s living our dream, as well as hers, and we’re all so very happy for her.

    • 4. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      Hi Rebecca thanks for your prayers and your support. I will give Jamie that hug for you. Your comment of bleeding over in her school life, I am real worried about that, and keeping a close eye on it. Just worried about her safety. Thank you for your kind words. Love, Dana

  • 5. Renee  |  January 26, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I agree with the others…I started transitioning when I was 36 and while I love my life now, there is no doubt there are things about it that are harder because I missed out on those earlier years. Rest assured, as hard as this may be for everyone, you are saving her years of anguish and difficulty.

    I’d say you did everything just about perfect, btw. That doesn’t mean it’s all going to be hunky dory right away. That happens when you have a dynamic with so many personalities in play…you can manage everything perfectly, but you still have to depend on all those other people to do the right thing too. Your whole family is amazing, and I have no doubt things will work out for the best.

    • 6. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      Thanks Renee, appreciate your kinds words and support. I really appreciate it. Love, Dana

  • 7. Lori D  |  January 26, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Kind of feels like flying at the speed of sound, huh?

    Some days will be better than others. Here’s to the good and the better, and eventually the best!

    • 8. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Hi Lori, I second that. Here’s to the good and the better, and eventually the best. Very well said, appreciate all of your support. Love, Dana

  • 9. Jerica  |  January 26, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Wow Dana!

    Thank you so much for sharing, once again. I was thinking about you and your family this weekend. And WOW it sounds like it was amazing. So many things hit me while reading this post I could make this comment go for a while but I’ll simply comment on the last part. I know that even as we speak, I have to go to work as a ‘guy’ still and it is very hard and I often look forward to coming home so I can be myself. But just like Jaime has something to look forward to, so do I…in March, I’ll finally be out at work. As for how feminine Jamie acts…it can be learned behavior, I’m not sure. I know that I have people who have never met ‘Jeremy’ tell me that I am ‘all girl’ and they don’t know how i ever passed as a guy, not just in looks but actions and mannerisms. And yet some things just have come very naturally once I was able to be myself…and I didn’t even notice! I am guessing YOU are noticing these things about her that she doesn’t even realize she’s doing. =)

    Anyways, I’m sooooo very happy that the weekend seemed to go so well for you and the family.

    • 10. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      HI Jerica – Your probably right, I am sensing things that she doesn’t even realize she is doing. Like I was saying in my post, the only word I can use to explain is that is surreal. Is still is to me, even tonight. She had been waiting (patiently I might add) to show the world who she really is. She isn’t holding back anymore. I am so proud of her. I hope your transition at work goes very successfully for you. You deserve it! Thanks for the support. Love, Dana

  • 11. Stacey in DC  |  January 26, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Dana:
    You blow my mind with how amazing you are with Jamie and the transition.

    At age 27, I count myself lucky that I’ve been able to transition at a relatively young age (started at 24), which has had big benefits as far as physical changes. However, there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t wish I could have transitioned before puberty. You are saving her SOOOO much physical (e.g. electrolysis) and emotional pain (e.g. social stigma).

    You really deserve the mom of the year (or century) award!

    • 12. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      Thanks Stacey – your comments are extremely flattering. As I continue to say, I approached this situation with Jamie with a lot of trepidation, but have already been rewarded with her happiness. I think she will have a few roadblocks along the way, but I know her future is bright. Thanks for the support. Love, Dana

  • 13. Sherry Ann  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Dana,

    Thanks you for sharing the events of the weekend. I can’t tell you enough how reaffirming the story is, mostly because you allow Jamie to be who she is. But you should be very proud of how you are handling Drew. You have also allowed him to adjust within the family and did not push too hard. He will be fine but will have challenges when peers and others know more about Jamie.

    You keep hitting on the core of gender when you say how amazed you are that Jamie is so natural. Nature vs. nurture? Jamie clearly shows, I think, how immutable gender is from birth and that nothing could have made her a boy or man. That she is being saved from having to prove it by becoming male first, and then reversing the damage, or trying to, is so wonderful. More and more young trans girls are being allowed to be who they are under good medical care and great parenting. You and other parents are so courageous.

    It will get easier and by summer it will be near “normal” in your home, and in public too. Neighbors will adjust and accept; explanations are not always required. Some may choose to not to accept and be cool or downright cold. That is their choice and not worth the time to worry about. It won’t be long until the wig will not be necessary. Jamie will tough it out going to school as a boy because she now know there is light, as well as a safe and loving harbor, when she gets home at night and on weekends. Who knows, she may become so comfortable in the next few weeks, and with some physical changes, that she rethinks the school option. Time will tell.

    You have some hurdles ahead, but you have shown how deftly and lovingly you handle the high ones. No, you did not go overboard; you gave the right signals at the right time and allowed your other children to see it is o.k. But now you have to teach the other part of becoming a woman – household chores. 🙂 Men are not capable of learning that.

    Sherry

    • 14. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      Hi Sherry, as always thanks for your comments and support. They are greatly appreciated. Drew is hanging in there, I am very proud of him. We’ll see how the rest of the week goes. Love, Dana

  • 15. xpinkyprincessx  |  January 26, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    OMG what a weekend! aww that’s so nice to hear 🙂 well im like 14 and i haven’t had a day like this yet… hehe soo jealous 😛 but im just sooo happy for you’s its nice to hear something that brightens my day 😀 your such a lovely mum! seriously…

    btw… erm just wondering you know well when i told my gp about being in the wrong body and her saying that she is going to contact a clinic, erm is it normal that ive been waiting more that 4 month since then and heard hardly anything… BUT i must admit there’s a meeting the doctors are having about me soo i think the ball’s starting to move now… hopefully!! soo im feeling a bit better, just wondering on if you think its normal to take this long because im kinda worried.. like allot, of puberty and stuff… i dont want to go through with the wrong one… scares me 😦

    good look Jamie xx

  • 16. Amanda  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I don’t think that you went overboard this past weekend at all. I am certain that Jamie loved the shopping trip. And it sounds like the dinner went well.

    Drew is probably still just feeling a bit overloaded at how female Jamie is. At least he is not being antagonistical about it. I hope that the relationship between him and Jamie will work out to be a good brother-sister one.

    Having to masquerade as a male for school will be hard for Jamie. But it might be even harder if she didn’t have any time to be herself at all.

    You are a truely wonderful mother. I hope that all three of your children appreciate you. *hugs*

    • 17. dstevens11  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      Hi Amanda – I agree with you, that’s why I feared I went overboard. I think Drew was overloaded, and I know felt awkward. Which is expected. I was overwhelmed by Jamie’s femininity, I can’t imagine how he felt. But I hope it works out with them as brother-sister. I guess it’s tougher for Drew since Jamie is older. Thanks for your comments and support, it is greatly appreciated. Love, Dana

  • 18. Cecily  |  February 3, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    I’m 26 and i just want to tell you how beautifully you seem to be handling all this. The first time my mom and i went shopping after i came out to her was wonderful. You had me cryin there. As someone who has absolutely been in the darkness that comes from repressing one’s gender identity, you can do nothing better to ensure your daughter’s happiness and security of self than to continue being the supportive, understanding, and toughtful mother you are.

    Plus, better to have the female puberty now, rather than when she’s 25. LOL I’mm like a 15 year old girl sometimes myself.

    • 19. dstevens11  |  February 10, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Hi Cecily – Thanks for the nice comments. Really appreciate it. Good luck with your transition. Love, Dana


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
